Dean McCurdy
Dean McCurdy
Two campus/community open forums have been set to meet and hear from the two educators selected as finalists for the position of chancellor of Ivy Tech Community College’s Kokomo Campus. The position is part of the College’s new organizational structure.

Named as finalists are Kimberly King, acting chancellor of the Kokomo Campus, and Dean G. McCurdy, associate vice president for Instruction and Bronson Healthy Living Campus at Kalamazoo Valley Community College in Michigan. The forums, open to the public in Room M400 of the main building at 1815 E. Morgan St., are planned for 10:30 to 11:30 a.m. Tuesday, Oct. 24, with King and 10:30 to 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Oct. 25, with McCurdy.

Each candidate will present for 10 to 15 minutes on two subjects: “The First 100 Days as Chancellor” and “The Greatest Opportunities Facing the Kokomo Campus and Community.” Audience members may submit questions in advance by email to or by using 5x7 cards that will be available at the forums.

Background on the two finalists:

Kimberly King
Kimberly King was appointed in June to serve as the acting chancellor of the Kokomo Campus. For the past two years, King has served Ivy Tech as the associate vice chancellor for Academic Affairs in Kokomo and Lafayette. 

During her 20-year tenure with the College, King has also held roles in the Kokomo region including assistant vice chancellor for Academic Affairs; dean for the Schools of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Fine Arts and Design, and Academic Skills Advancement; and program chair for Communication, English, Humanities, and Social Sciences.  In 2015, she was recognized as the Outstanding Administrator by the Ivy Tech Kokomo Region Board of Trustees.  Prior to her career at Ivy Tech, King held positions at Adminastar Federal Inc., The Children’s Museum, and Booth Tarkington Civic Theatre in Indianapolis, and Solidarity Community Federal Credit Union in Kokomo. 

King has been actively involved in Ivy Tech statewide, including as a member of the Regional Academic Officer’s Committee and the Higher Learning Commission’s Diversity Committee for Accreditation. Her community activities include serving on the Chamber Council of the Greater Kokomo Chamber of Commerce and the Visioning/Winning Community Committee for the Community Foundation of Howard County and participating in Partners in Education.  She has led seminars and workshops for leadership academies in Kokomo, Logansport, and Wabash, and facilitated training of loaned associates for United Way.

King earned a Master of Arts in Communication from Ball State University and a Bachelor of Science in Speech Communication and Theatre Education from the University of Indianapolis. She is currently pursuing a Ph.D. in Educational Leadership from Indiana State University.  

Dean McCurdy
Dean McCurdy serves as associate vice president for Instruction and Bronson Healthy Living Campus at Kalamazoo Valley Community College (Michigan). In this role, he has collaborated with faculty, staff, and regional employers to lead the opening and growth of KVCC’s newest campus and programs. He also leads the Guided Pathways retention and completion initiative across all campuses of KVCC. 

Prior to assuming these responsibilities, McCurdy served as dean of Math and Sciences at KVCC. From 2001–2013, he worked in a variety of roles at Albion College (Michigan), including as the A. Merton Chickering Professor of Biology, chair of the Biology Department, and director of the Honors Program. McCurdy’s work has resulted in award-winning teaching and research initiatives. He has served on the boards of regional, national, and international educational and environmental organizations and has led community-wide efforts to design and launch successful programs and facilities in healthcare, liberal arts and sciences, culinary arts, sustainable brewing, and agriculture. 

Originally from Canada, he completed a B.Sc.(H) in Biology at Acadia University (Nova Scotia), a Ph.D. in Biology at Carleton University (Ontario), and a post-doctoral fellowship from the National Sciences and Engineering Research Council.