Christian Abney & Aaryan Morrison
Christian Abney & Aaryan Morrison
AP classes were no match for 47 Kokomo High School students and recent graduates.

On Monday, the students were recognized at the Kokomo School Corp. Board of Trustees meeting for earning Advanced Placement (AP) Scholar awards for their “exceptional achievement” on college-level exams.

“I am incredibly proud. These 47 AP Scholars exemplify what it means to be a Wildkat at Kokomo High School,” said KHS Principal Angela Blessing. 

One student, KHS senior Christian Abney, joined the top 1 percent of students across the nation taking AP exams with his scores. Abney took eight AP exams and recorded an average score of 4.75, with six 5’s. 

Abney, who also is completing the International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Program, said he was thankful for the opportunity to take advantage of “the rigors” of the programs. 

“I’m so fortunate to have had the opportunity to take multiple AP classes and IB classes at Kokomo High School,” he said.  “The fusion of both programs has given me a unique, holistic high school experience that will allow me to enter college ready to take on new challenges with the added benefit of having several college credits upon entrance.”

Six students, including Abney, joined the top 2.5 percent of students across the nation with their scores, recording an average of at least 3.5 on all AP exams and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these college-level exams to earn an AP Scholar with Distinction award. The other five students were Yue Liu (2017), Aaryan Morrison (2018), Rodrig Naska (2017), Nguyen Nguyen (2017), and Jiawen Shi (2017).

Aaryan, like Abney, also has taken advantage of both the AP course offerings and the IB Diploma Program at KHS.

“Being able to juggle the demands of AP classes and the IB Diploma Program should be impossible, but Kokomo Schools administrators and teachers make it a manageable reality,” Morrison said. 

Seven KHS students – Jacob Ashburn (2018), Wesley Grove (2018), Xuanfeng Li (2017), Aditi Sood (2017), Jiamian Wang (2017), Max White (2019), and Boya Zhang (2018) – were named AP Scholars with Honor for being among the top 3 percent nationally who recorded an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these college-level exams.

Another 34 KHS students were among the top 5 percent nationally who recorded scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams to earn an AP Scholar award. The students who earned this award were Noah Burket (2017), Kenneth Burton (2017), Luke Cameron (2018), Corey Dea (2018), Elizabeth Foesch (2017), Cole Hanson (2017), Kyle Heaton (2017), Molly Hedrick (2017), Daniel Herrera (2019), Robert Holz (2017), Keagan James (2017), Phoenix Jefferson (2019), Adrienne Johnson (2017), Corbin King (2018), Sharon Ling (2017), Chaitanya Modi (2017), Erin Moody (2017), Demitra Novinger (2017), Emily Ogle (2018), Lana Pham (2017), Mackenzie Smith (2019), Andrea Stout (2018), Grace Stout (2017), Haocun Wang (2018), Paige Ward (2017), Laura Weaver (2019), Zhiyuan Wei (2017), Alexander Whiteman (2017), Justice Wilburn (2017), Eric Willhite (2018), Zhaochen Wu (2018), Runyi Zhang (2018), Yuankun Zhao (2017), and Siyu Zheng (2017).

For receiving the top marks, the students earned a combined $12,000 in incentive money from Solidarity Community Federal Credit Union through its “Student Success” program, which provides the monetary awards to students who earn passing scores on AP and DP exams.