A field of 384 teams will begin play later this month as the pairings for the 51st Annual IHSAA Baseball State Tournament Series were announced. Host schools will announce playing schedules in the days to come which will then be added to the online brackets at MaxPreps.com.

Sectional competition begins May 24, and continues through May 29 (Memorial Day), with the 64 champions advancing to a four-team regional on June 3. Two semifinal games will be played early that day at each site with the two winners returning for a championship game that evening. The 16 regional winners will be assigned to four semi-state sites and play a single game on June 10, with the winners moving into their respective state championship game.

This year’s four state championship games, scheduled for June 16 (one game) and June 17 (three games) will be played at Victory Field in Indianapolis, home of the Triple-A franchise Indianapolis Indians.

Among the top-ranked teams in this week’s poll from the Indiana High School Baseball Coaches Association, Class 4A’s Carmel will begin its journey against North Central (Indianapolis) in Sectional 8 at Westfield. Jasper, the No. 1 team in Class 3A will host Vincennes Lincoln in the Sectional 31 opener; Lafayette Central Catholic is No. 1 in Class 2A and will meet Fountain Central in the first game of Sectional 38 at Delphi and; Hagerstown, the top team in Class A, will play Tri in Sectional 56 at Seton Catholic.

The defending state champions include Class 4A’s Roncalli which will host Perry Meridian in the Sectional 11 bye game. Northview will host Sullivan in Class 3A, Sectional 28. In Class 2A, Providence will play Eastern (Pekin) while hosting Class 2A, Sectional 46. Daleville, last year’s Class A state champ will play Anderson Preparatory Academy which is hosting Sectional 55. 

Times and dates will be announced in the coming week.

Class 4A Sectional 7 at Kokomo Municipal Stadium: 1. Lafayette Jefferson (13-5-2) vs Logansport (13-8), 2. Zionsville (13-8) vs #4 Kokomo (17-1), 3. Winner G1 vs Winner G2, 4. Harrison (8-12) vs McCutcheon (10-6), 5. Championship game

Class 3A Sectional 20 at West Lafayette: 1. Maconaquah (1-13) vs Northwestern (4-14), 2. Benton Central (14-5) vs Peru (9-6), 3. Winner G1 vs Winner G2, 4. #6 Western (11-4) vs West Lafayette (12-6), 5. Championship game

Class 2A Sectional 39 at Blackford: 1. Madison-Grant (1-14-1) vs Blackford (11-9), 2. Taylor (11-7)) vs Eastern (8-8), 3. Alexandria (9-10) vs Elwood (10-7), 4. Eastbrook (5-10) vs Winner G1, 5. Elwood (10-7) vs Winner G3, 6. Championship game