Three hundred ninety-nine teams were drawn and placed into brackets for the 107th Annual IHSAA Boys Basketball State Tournament presented by the Indiana Pacers and Indiana Fever. Sectional games are scheduled to begin Tuesday, February 28, and run through Saturday, March 4, with the regional round slated for March 11 and semi-states on March 18. The four state championship games that make up the state finals will be played at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis on Saturday, March 25.

Fort Wayne North Side is this week’s top-ranked team in both the Associated Press Class 4A poll and the single class poll from the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association. The Legends will begin its quest for the school’s first state finals appearance since its 1965 state runners-up season when they meet DeKalb in the Sectional 5 opener at Carroll (Fort Wayne). 

Class 3A’s No. 1 team, the Brownstown Central Braves, will take on North Harrison in the opening game of Sectional 30 at Salem. 

In Class 2A, the top-ranked Providence Pioneers drew Henryville in the first game of Sectional 46 at Crawford County. 

The Tindley Tigers, the No. 1 team in the Class A poll, will begin its charge toward a third consecutive sectional title when it meets Sectional 58 host University in the second game of the opening round.

Among last year’s big winners, the defending Class A champion Liberty Christian Lions drew Southern Wells in the second game of Sectional 55 at Wes-Del. The Lapel Bulldogs, last year’s Class 2A champ, will host Wapahani in the Sectional 40 opening game. The Marion Giants, which tied a state record with its eighth boys basketball state championship a year ago, will host Tipton in the Sectional 24 opening game. And the New Albany Bulldogs, last year’s Class 4A state champ, drew Jennings County in the second game of Sectional 15 at Seymour.

Lafayette Central Catholic (Class A) leads the state with 15 consecutive sectional championships. Greensburg (Class 3A) and Liberty Christian (Class A) follow with five in a row and Linton-Stockton (Class 2A) is next with four straight.

Number of schools entered: 399 teams with 5,886 participants; 100 4A teams, 101 3A teams, 100 2A teams, 98 1A teams

Total number of games: 395 games in 26 days

Most sectional titles: 74 Kokomo; 71 Vincennes Lincoln; 68 Lafayette Jefferson; 67 Marion; 64 Richmond; 59 Muncie Central; 57 Connersville, New Castle; 56 Logansport; 51 Anderson, Lebanon, New Albany, Valparaiso

Class 4A Sectional 7 at Lafayette Jefferson *
1. Tues: Harrison (13-9) vs Zionsville (15-6)
2. Tues: Kokomo (15-6) vs Lafayette Jeff (12-9)
3. Fri: #4 Logansport (22-1) vs winner game 1
4. Fri: #7 McCutcheon (20-2) vs winner game 2
5. Sat: Championship Game
* 97-33 combined win-loss record is the best in the state

Class 3A Sectional 20 at Maconaquah
1. Tues: Northwestern (13-6) vs West Lafayette (12-9)
2. Tues: Benton Central (6-14) vs Peru (9-11)
3. Fri: Maconaquah (12-8) vs winner game 1
4. Fri: Western (2-17) vs winner game 2
5. Sat: Championship Game

Class 2A Sectional 37 at Oak Hill
1. Tues: Lewis Cass (14-6) vs Manchester (6-14)
2. Wed: Wabash (8-12) vs #1 Oak Hill (17-3)
3. Wed: Northfield (8-12) vs #9 Southwood (16-4)
4. Fri: Rochester (4-16) vs winner game 1
5. Fri: Winner game 2 vs winner game 3
6. Sat: Championship Game
Class 2A Sectional 39 at Taylor
1. Tues: Elwood (8-13) vs Taylor (6-17)
2. Tues: Alexandria (12-9) vs Eastbrook (4-16)
3. Fri: Madison-Grant (11-10) vs winner game 1
4. Fri: Eastern (7-15) vs winner game 2
5. Sat: Championship Game