Several members of the co-North Central Conference champion Kokomo Wildkats football team were named all-conference. Named All-NCC First Team were Quamielle Belt (offensive line), Perry McCullum (defensive end), Brevin Beard (outside linebacker), Keenen Wheeler (running back), Noah Hurlock Kokomo (inside linebacker), Kyle Wade (quarterback), Luke Cameron (defensive back) and Javias Gray (defensive tackle). 
Named to the All-NCC Second Team were Jabrian Adams (inside linebacker), Noah Cameron (defensive back), Steven Edwards (running back) and Nathan Pine (offensive line). 
Wheeler and Wade were named to the team for the second consecutive year while Belt, Cameron and Beard were named to the second team last season.
Harrison’s Terry Peebles and Kokomo’s Brett Colby were named co-NCC Coaches of the Year. For Colby, it was the second consecutive year he earned the honor and sixth in his 10-year career guiding the Wildkats. Colby has led the Kats to seven conference titles, including five straight from 2007-2011. The veteran coach has an 81-26 record at Kokomo with an incredible 62-7 record in NCC games (.899 winning percentage). His Kats have won two consecutive sectional titles and went to the Class 5A Final Four in 2015.

With the success of the Kokomo Wildkats football team, a pair of Lady Wildkats basketball games has been postponed. The opening night (Nov. 4) basketball game at Sheridan will now be played on Nov. 22 at 6 p.m. in Sheridan (junior varsity start time). The Nov. 11 North Central Conference game against Harrison, scheduled for Memorial Gymnasium, will be played on Dec. 22 at 6 p.m. (JV start).
On the boys side, with Westfield playing in the state championship football game, the Nov. 26 game has been rescheduled for Feb. 18 at Westfield with a 6 p.m. junior varsity start.
Logansport High School senior basketball standout Matt Jennings has accepted a full-ride scholarship to continue his career at Grace College, an NAIA program in Winona Lake, Indiana. Jennings became the eighth member of the Berries 1,000 Point Club last season.
Jennings will join former Kokomo Wildkat Erik Bowen on the Lancers squad next year, a junior who is averaging 13.7 points and 12.0 rebounds per game. In addition, McCutcheon’s Haden Deaton has committed to Grace, which reached the NAIA Final Four in 2013 and has been in the NCCAA top three for the past two seasons.
The Indiana High School Baseball Coaches Association has released its Hall of Fame class for 2017. Included in the new class is longtime Lewis Cass baseball coach Greg Marschand. The induction ceremonies will be held Jan. 20 at the Sheraton at Keystone at the Crossing in Indianapolis. This event will be part of the 3-day IHSBCA state clinic and information is available at www.ihsbca.org Tickets are available by contacting HOF Banquet Chairman Gary O’Neal at 812-273-3964 or IHSBCA Executive Director Brian Abbott at 260-358-7310.
This year’s Hall of Fame class includes three coaches, a selection from the veteran’s committee and a benefactor. Each of these recipients will be recognized and will speak at the HOF Banquet and receive two plaques commemorating their induction. One of those plaques will be on permanent display at the Indiana Baseball Hall of Fame in Jasper.
Marschand has coached the Lewis Cass Kings for 35 years and compiled a 548 – 383 record during that time. He has won 5 sectional titles, 2 regional championships, 1 semi-state crown, and was the 2009 Class 2A runner-up losing to Heritage Christian in the state finals. His teams have also won 10 Mid-Indiana Conference championships. Greg is a 1999 inductee into the Columbus State University Hall of Fame where he set school career records of 32 victories (32-12), most innings pitched (327 2/3) and most starts (48) as four-year starter (1973-76).
Marschand will be joined by Chip Sweet, Steve DeGroote, Paul Ehrman and Bart Kaufman in the class of 2017. See www.indbaseballhalloffame.org for further information.